

Indian Society for Rock Mechanics and Tunnelling Technology

(ISRMTT) (Regd. No. 22877 Dated. 4th May 1992) C/o Central Soil and Materials Research Station Olof Palme Marg, Hauz Khas, New Delhi 110016 Phone 011-26581772, Fax: +91-11-26853108

Minutes of the 41st Meeting of the Executive Committee of ISRMTT

Date:26th April 2011 (Tuesday)Time:2.00 P.M.Venue:AIMIL New Delhi

Minutes of 41st Meeting of the Executive Committee of Indian Society for Rock Mechanics and Tunnelling Technology (ISRMTT) Held on 26.04.2011

The 41st meeting of the Executive Committee of ISRMTT was held at AIMIL on 26.04.2011 at 2.00 PM.

The meeting was chaired by Dr. Rajbal Singh, President, ISRMTT. The following were present:

- 1. Dr. Rajbal Singh, President, ISRMTT
- 2. Mr. Imran Sayeed, Vice President
- 3. Dr. V.M. Sharma, Ex. President
- 4. Dr. Gopal Dhawan, Ex. Vice President
- 5. Mr. Jai Bhagwan, Ex. Member
- 6. Mr. Hari Dev, Member
- 7. Dr. D.V. Sarwade, Treasurer
- 8. Mr. S.S. Narang, Member
- 9. Mr. S.B. Suri, Member
- 10. Dr. Kishore Kumar, Member
- 11. Mr. Naveen Kumar Jain, Member
- 12. Mr. Arvind Verma, Institutional Member

Outcome of the meeting:

- 1. Dr. Rajbal Singh, President, ISRMTT welcomed all the members present in the meeting.
- 2. Shri Hari Dev, Scientist 'D', DSIR was nominated Honorary Secretary of ISRMTT. His name was proposed by Dr. V.M. Sharma, seconded by Mr. S.B. Suri and approved by all the members after the acceptance by Mr. Hari Dev.
- 3. The minutes of the 40th meeting of the Executive Committee of ISRMTT held on 22.12.2010 were confirmed.
- Members were apprised about the successful organization of Training Course on "Rock" Engineering" by Dr. Nick Barton in association with CSMRS and Indian Society of Engineering Geology (ISEG) at CSMRS Auditorium, New Delhi, 24-25 January 2011.
- 5. Organisation of **Third Indian Rock Conference: INDOROCK-2011**, 13-15 October 2011, going to be held at IIT Roorkee.

Members were requested to support and contribute research papers for the conference.



1. S.

Indian Society for Rock Mechanics and Tunnelling Technology (ISRMTT) (Regd. No. 22877 Dated. 4th May 1992) C/o Central Soil and Materials Research Station Olof Palme Marg, Hauz Khas, New Delhi 110016 Phone 011-26581772, Fax: +91-11-26853108

- Fourth Indian Rock Conference: INDOROCK-2013, May 2013: It was apprised that 4th India Rock Conference: INDOROC-2013 shall be organized at JUIT, Wacknaghat, Distt. Solan, Himachal Pradesh.
- 7. Training Course on "Application of Rock Mechanics and Engineering Geology in Infrastructure Development" is proposed to be organised by ISRMTT in association with CSMRS and Delhi Chapter of ISEG at CSMRS Auditorium, New Delhi.
- 8. Journal of ISRMTT

Efforts of the editors towards the publication of the journal were appreciated by the Executive Committee.

9. News letter of ISRMTT.

Members suggested publishing of the newsletter on bi-annual basis.

10. Auditing of Accounts for 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09, 2009-10 and 2010-11.

Committee was apprised about the auditing of accounts for the years 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09 and 2009-10. These accounts were approved by GBM. The auditing of accounts for the year 2010-11 is in progress. The members suggested to follow the heads as being done by other societies. After study, the heads may be finalized.

11. Renewal of Institutional Membership.

It was suggested to issue letters for renewal of Institutional membership.

12. Formation of Committee for Honorary Fellowship, ISRMTT Awards and Best Paper Awards.

Members suggested to felicitate the members with Honorary Fellowship for their contribution to Rock Mechanics. It was also suggested to initiate the awards for best papers in seven categories. For this purpose a committee will be formed under the chairmanship of Dr. Gopal Dhawan. The members suggested to felicitate pioneers in the field of Rock Mechanics during the INDOROCK 2011.

13. Any other point with the permission of the Chair.

The Executive also resolved to co-opt Dr. R.K. Gupta, Director, CWC and Dr. D.V. Thareja, Director (Technical), SCN-Lavalin as additional members of the Executive Committee for guidance.

It was also decided to appoint a suitable person on temporary basis to look after the work of the society.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

(Hari Dev) Honorary Secretary