Minutes of the 47th Meeting of the Executive Committee of ISRMTT

Date:

23rd July 2013 (Tuesday)

Time:

4.00 P.M.

Venue:

Committee Room of Member (D&R), CWC, Sewa Bhawan

Minutes of 47th Meeting of the Executive Committee of Indian Society for Rock Mechanics and Tunnelling Technology (ISRMTT) Held on 23.07.2013

The 47th meeting of the Executive Committee of ISRMTT was held at Committee Room of Member (D&R), CWC on 23.07.2013 at 4.00 PM. The meeting was chaired by Shri A.B. Pandya, President, ISRMTT. The following were present:

- 1. Shri A.B. Pandya, President
- 2. Dr. Rajbal Singh, Past President
- 3. Shri V.K. Gupta, Treasurer
- 4. Dr. V.M. Sharma, Member
- 5. Dr. M.N. Bagde, Member
- 6. Shri Hari Dev, Member
- 7. Shri Vijai Saran, Member
- 8. Dr. Atul Nanda, Member
- 9. Shri C.S. Khokhar, Member

Outcome of the meeting:

- 1. Shri A.B.Pandya, President, ISRMTT welcomed all the members present in the meeting.
- 2. The minutes of the 46th meeting of the Executive Committee of ISRMTT held on 25th March, 2013 were confirmed. (Annexure 'A')
- Indorock-2013 was organized successfully in association with JUIT at Waknaghat Solan from 29-31 May, 2013. More than 200 delegates from more than 50 organizations attended the conference. The Committee appreciated the efforts made in successfully organizing the Indorock-2013.
- 4. ISRMTT Awards and Best paper Awards for the year 2011 and 2012 were presented to the dignitaries during the Indorock-2013.
- 5. Appointment for Secretarial Assistance

The need for secretarial assistance was being felt since long for interaction with the members for day to day office works of the society in addition to the assistance in organization of various events. In view of the increase in activities of ISRMTT, Shri L. Srinivasan was appointed for secretarial Assistance for looking after the works of the society and works related to Indiorock-2013. The appointment was made for a period of three months in view of the Indorock-2013.

The EC felt that to run the society in a proficient way, it is utmost important that a regular person is appointed at the Secretariat office, Hence, it is proposed that one full time person is recruited for looking after the day to day works of ISRMTT.

6. INDOROCK 2015: Fifth Indian Rock Conference

Dr. C.S.Gokhale, Principal, Don Bosco College of Engineering, Fatorda, Madgaon, Goa has submitted a proposal for conducting INDOROCK-2015 at Goa on 23-25 September 2015. However, it was decided that the next Indorock should be preponed to September / October 2014 to avoid clashing of dates with the Golden Jubilee Conference of International Society for Engineering Geology. It was decided that Sh C.S. Khokhar will discuss the issue with Dr. C.S. Gokhale, during his visit to Goa shortly. Further course of action will be decided accordingly.

7. Election of Honorary Secretary

Sh Vijai Saran, Director, Central Water Commission was unanimously elected as the Honorary Secretary for 2013 -2015.

8. Nomination of two Institutional members

Since, no nominations were received from institutional members for the post of two members during the elections conducted in May 2013, EC unanimously decided to nominate Central Water Commission and M/s AIMIL Ltd as institutional members for 2013-15. Both these organizations shall be requested to depute their representatives for participation in Executive Committee meetings.

- It was decided that the ISRMTT website will be updated, maintained and managed by a professionally trained personnel.
- 10. It was decided that Dr Rajbal Singh will discuss the issue of having a training programme pertaining to Geological Mapping of landslides in Uttrakhand with Dr Bhoop Singh, Advisor, DST during his visit to Imphal.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the chair.

(Hari Dev)

Honorary Secretary, ISRMTT Mobile: 9717311033

Copy to:

- 1. President (ISRMTT)
- 2. Vice Presidents
- Treasurer
- 4. All Executive Committee Members
- 5. ISRMTT File