Guest Editorial

Indian Society for Rock Mechanics and Tunnelling Technology (ISRMTT) was formed on 24 January 1992. The ISRMTT was incorporated as a Society on 4th day of May 1992 with the Registrar of Co-operative Societies, Delhi, by a group of engineers, scientists and practicing professionals. ISRMTT Members include Executive Committee Members, Honorary Fellows, Institutional Members, Editorial Board Members of its Journal of Rock Mechanics and Tunnelling Technology, Individual Life Members and Members of its Local Chapters. Presently, there are over 2000 members including all the above categories.

The main aim and objective of ISRMTT is to promote co-operation among the engineers, scientists and practicing professionals for the advancement and dissemination of knowledge in the field of rock mechanics, geotechnical engineering, engineering geology, civil and mining engineering, tunnelling technology and allied fields and their practical applications. The Society works towards gathering latest developments and advancements in the above allied fields of rock mechanics and tunnelling technology and dissemination to various people by conducting conferences, workshops, seminars and trainings, both at national and international levels. Apart from the above activities ISRMTT has been sanctioned several Research Projects by the Government of India, for making studies, to provide data and technical support normally not in the purview of educational, research and consulting institutions.

The Society is publishing a bi-annual newsletter "ISRMTT News" (ISSN 0971-9040) which provides the latest information and technological developments in India and throughout the world in the field of Rock Mechanics and Tunnelling Technology.

ISRMTT also publishes a bi-annual journal "Journal of Rock Mechanics and Tunnelling Technology (JRMTT)" (ISSN 0971-9059) and has decided to award seven certificates of merit every year for the best paper, either published in the Journal (JRMTT) or included in a conference/ workshop organised by ISRMTT, on the following topics:

- Case History of Tunnelling
- Case History of Foundations on Rock
- CAD/ Software Packages
- Application of Rock Mechanics in Hill Development
- Underground Space Technology
- Rock Testing and Monitoring of Rock Structures
- Rock Blasting and Rock Dynamics

The Society helps in dissemination, advising and implementation of latest technology to provide most effective output at minimal cost, which will in turn help in saving of Government/ National funds. The Society also functions with the help of its Local Chapters at various locations of the country, which provide reinforcement to its aims and objectives of advancement of technical knowledge and keeping the parent body aware of its activities and developments.

I am delighted to inform all members that Indorock-2013: Fourth Indian Rock Conference is being organized jointly by ISRMTT and Jaypee University of Information Technology (JUIT) at JUIT Campus, Waknaghat on 29-31 May 2013 along with one day Training Course on 'Rock Engineering' by Dr. Nick Barton. The Indorock-2011: Third Indian Rock Conference was organized successfully by Roorkee Chapter of ISRMTT.

I am thankful to all Members for taking keen interest in the activities of the Society. I also express profound thanks to All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), New Delhi, which has taken keen interest in providing funds for expansion of the activities of our Society.

I am grateful to Prof. Bhawani Singh, Dr. Subhash Mitra and Dr. R. K. Goel for their untiring efforts to look after the works of "Journal of Rock Mechanics and Tunnelling Technology" since 1994. We are grateful to all Institutional Members and Libraries for continued support to the journal and other activities of the society.

I am thankful to Dr. Nick Barton for conducting two training courses successfully on "Rock Engineering" for dissemination of knowledge and delivering Conference Lecture during Indorock-2011 at Roorkee. The contribution of all Presidents, Vice Presidents, Honorary Secretaries, Treasurers and all Executive Committee Members of ISRMTT is also acknowledged with thanks in particular Dr. V.M. Sharma, Dr. A.K. Dhawan, Mr. S.B. Suri, Dr. D.G. Kadkade, Dr. Gopal Dhawan, Mr. D.K. Sharma, Prof. M.N. Viladkar, Prof. Mahender Singh, Prof. N.K. Samadhaya and Mr. Imran Sayeed for their continued guidance to the society. We are thankful to all other organizations and individuals who have directly or indirectly supported the activities of ISRMTT.

Last but not the least, I thank CSMRS New Delhi, AIMIL Ltd New Delhi, CSIR-CIMFR Roorkee, NHPC Faridabad, CWC New Delhi, CRRI New Delhi, IRI Roorkee, Jaypee Associates NOIDA, HCC Mumbai, L&T Chennai, WAPCOS New Delhi, SJVNL Shimla, HPPCL Shimla, THPA Bhutan, THDC Rishikesh and IIT Roorkee which have provided office space, facilities and moral support to the Society in all its spheres of activities.

All the accounts of ISRMTT have been audited up to March 2012. The new PAN number of ISRMTT is AAAAI0075L. This was all possible due to untiring efforts made by Mr. Hari Dev, Honorary Secretary and Dr. D.V. Sarwade, Treasurer of ISRMTT.

I am pleased to inform that ISRMTT has launched its website. Please visit ISRMTT website <u>www.isrmtt.com</u> for updating complete information. Please contact us at email address <u>isrmtt2008@rediffmail.com</u> for updating your address, email and mobile numbers.

Looking forward to continued support and co-operation and wishing all the Members a Happy New Year – 2013.

Dr. Rajbal Singh President, ISRMTT